Pivoting

I have to admit that I bit off more than I could chew. Working full-time as a machinist, parenting, and working on a mechanical engineering degree was just not a sustainable plan. Something had to give, and it was the ME degree. To complete the ME program, from this point,  I would be taking classes for at least 10 more semesters. I can’t spend 3-4 more years split in so many directions.

So, what’s the new plan? Well, I’m going to switch majors.

To business…

If you had told me a couple years ago that I would be going for a business major, I would have laughed in your face. Still, the pragmatist in me is kind of excited about the change. Even if the idealist is copping an attitude. I’m planning on getting an MIS (management information systems) degree. This appeals to my technical side while also playing to some of my (heretofore unknown) organizational skills. Did I mention that I convinced my job to send me to a management training program? I convinced my job to send me to a management training program. Where I discovered that I have some interest in management,as well as some aptitude for it.

So, here’s to starting over, again.

Leave a comment