MakeICT – Lathe class

I heard about MakeICT a few years ago, but this year I finally joined. I’m glad I did, too. The makerspace is pretty rad, with just about any equipment a person would need to make just about anything. As a machinist, the first thing I wanted to check out was the metal shop. The makerspace has MIG and TIG welders, fab equipment for light sheet metal, a couple of lathes, a mill and all the other power tools and hand tools you need. After joining I noticed that there wasn’t anyone teaching classes on the lathes or the mill. I pretty quickly made the decision to rectify that.

So, yesterday was my first day as a lathe instructor. I think it went pretty well. I had a class of four (plus an assistant), and from 9 – 3 we went on  a Magical Machine Shop Tour™. When I was planning out the class, I wanted to make it based around a project. So I decided to have everyone machine a marking Gage.

I’ll post more about this later, I’m going to get some pictures of the marking gage we made to attach to this post.

Keep making, everyone!

Leave a Reply

