Print it up

I’ve been interested in 3D printing for awhile now. After I found out about RepRap I was determined to (eventually) get one for myself. In case you haven’t heard about RepRap, it’s an extrusion based printer that can use PLA or ABS, and is able to be built for less than $500. All in all, it seems to be a great choice for  a 3D printer. While I was trying to figure out how I would come up with the time to build a RepRap I got to looking at other designs for 3D printers. Here’s a short list of the ones I find most intriguing:

  • http://www.peachyprinter.com/ This was on kickstarter, and received funding. It’s claim to fame is that it’s the first 3D printer to only cost $100. It’s a stereolithography based printer, and as such has really great resolution; on the other hand, the available materials are pretty limited.
  • http://ytec3d.com/3d-printers Plan-B and Focus are 3dp printers; focus is in a pretty early stage of development, and it looks like plan-b is just a, well a plan. These printers are both pretty inspiring, though.
  • http://pwdr.github.io/ Similar to the above.

So, eventually I hope to have one these, or something similar, built and in use in my home shop. Until then, though, I can always use shapeways.

Leave a Reply

